Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

MtA Music: Chamber Orchestra performs Two Symphonies and a Concerto

December 1, 2018

The 40-piece Mount Allison Chamber Orchestra will present symphonies by Joseph Haydn and William Boyce, along with the Concerto for Four Violins by Antonio Vivaldi. Soloists for the concerto are Sannu Lawt, Vasi Vangjeli, Ian Richardson, and Annabelle Kilham. The Haydn Symphony No. 100, “The Military”—one of the composer’s 12 London Symphonies—includes novel use of percussion and trumpets; the Boyce symphonies are known for tuneful melodies and dance-like rhythms. Also on the program is music by Albinoni, with woodwind soloists Lucie Bauby, Margaret Hancox, and Keith Nicholson.

The Mount Allison Chamber Orchestra, directed by Gregory Burton, features top instrumental students from the Department of Music, as well as excellent musicians from across the University and the greater Sackville community. The concert is open to all and free of charge.

For additional information, call (506) 364-2374 or e-mail music@mta.ca. To view the full schedule of Music Department events, visit www.mta.ca/music/.


December 1, 2018
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Category: